From Heroes Assemble MUSH
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This is a framework to aid with syncing up characters related to the Japanese mythos. Consider it a loose guideline but try to fit in if possible. If there are issues incorporating canon characters we can look at adapting it further.


The Kami are the gods and demigods of Japan. They are ruled by the most august Sun Goddess Amaterasu Omikami no Mikoto-sama from her Imperial palace in the heavenly realm of Takamagahara.

There are two major divisions among the Kami. The ruling class of the Amatsu-Kami are children of Izanami and are therefore younger gods, who are native to the demesne of Takamagahara. The Kunitsu-Kami are spirits and ascended mortals who are native to Toyoashiwara (Earth).

The structure of the Kami is very hierarchical. The Amatsu-Kami stand above the Kunitsu-Kami in this hierarchy. Their society closely mirrors that of Imperial Japan; or, rather, Imperial Japan mirrored the structure of the Amatsu-Kami, as the Emperors were direct descendants of Amaterasu.

Takamagahara, the otherworldly demesne of most kami, can be primarily accessed through several major sacred sites in the Japanese archipelago, such as the Ise Grand Shrine. Some of the more potent Amatsu-Kami may also access the realm directly through the use of sacred treasures or powerful magic regardless of their location.

Shinto Gods and Goddesses

Divine Progenitors

  • Izanagi - Father of the Pantheon, Japanese name for the Demiurge.
  • Izanami - Mother of the Pantheon, Japanese name for Gaea. A fragment of her broke off during the violent birth of Kagetsuchi, the Fire God. This aspect of Gaea became the ruler of their underworld, ideologuically adjacent to realms such as Tartarus.

The Amatsu-Kami, children of the Divine Progenitors

  • Hiruko ‘The Leech Child’ - First born of Izanagi and Izanami. Hiruko was born deformed and lacking any bones because Izanami initiated the mating in an inauspicious fashion, so it was cast adrift and left to die.
  • Kagetsuchi - The God of Fire, burned Izanami to ‘death’ being born.
  • Raijin/Kaminari - The Goddess of Thunder and Noise. She is sometimes portrayed as an Oni due to her wild untamed ways. Currently engaged in a successful career as a rock musician living among mortals.
  • Fujin/Futen - The Goddess of Wind, also often portrayed as an Oni for similar reasons and almost always together with her sister Kaminari.
  • Amaterasu - The Most August of the Amatsu-Kami, the Sun Goddess, she is one of the three major Shinto deities and was made the ruler of Takamagahara by Izanagi. She is also the progenitor of the male side of the Japanese Imperial line.
  • Tsuku-Yomi - Genderless Moon deity, at times god or goddess. One of the three major Shinto deities. They were given Dominion over the Night by Izanagi.
  • Susa-no-O - The God of Storms, last of the three major Shinto deities. He was made the ruler of the Sea by Izanagi. He is also a Trickster figure.
  • Ogetsu Hime - The Goddess of Food. She was famously killed by Tsuku-Yomi for being gross, which was the reason for the split between the Sun and the Moon (Day and Night). But Gods have a tendency to not stay dead and she appears again later.

Heavenly Deities of other lineage

  • Ame-no-Uzume - The Goddess of Dawn, Mirth, Revelry, and the Arts. She is famous for enticing Amaterasu back out of her cave after the Demiurge began to recover from Ragnarok.
  • Omoikane - God of Wisdom and Thought, and another name for Agamotto. His lineage is as ancient as he is wise, being the son of Hoggoth, also known as Takami Musubi.
  • Amatsu-Mikaboshi - Amatsu-Mikaboshi, The Dread Star of Heaven, is a dark god of the Pole Star. A sometimes patron of the darker practitioners of Onmyou ritual magic, his worship is officially outlawed. An aspect of Chthon, now imprisoned in Yomi, the Shinto underworld.

Major Kunitsu-Kami

  • Kushinadahime - Wife taken by Susa-no-O during his time in Ashihara-no-Nakatsukuni, Mother of Okuninushi, Deified Mortal, Goddess of Rice.
  • Okuninushi - God of Nation Building, Agriculture, Magic, and the Unseen World. He is the son of Susa-no-O and Leader of the Kunitsu-Kami. The first ruler of Ashihara-no-Nakatsukuni before the descent of the Imperial Line.
  • Ryujin - Dragon God, rules the depths of the sea from his palace beneath the waves. Representative of the primal power of the sea, placated to avoid tsunamis and sea quakes.
  • Hachiman - Deified Mortal (Emperor Ojin, 3rd-4th C.). He became the God of War following his death.
  • Tenjin - Deified mortal (Sugawara no Michizane, 845-903). A mortal scholar so gifted he became the God of Education and Learning. Also a God of Natural Disasters placated to avoid his curses.
  • Inari - God of Rice, Fertility, Business, and Foxes. Actually an outsider, he arrived in Japan during the Yayoi period and became widely worshipped.
  • Shichifukujin - The Seven Lucky Gods. They are Benzaiten, Ebisu, Bishamonten, Daikokuten, Jurojin, Hotei, Fukurokuju. With the exception of Ebisu they are all foreign deities who found their way to Japan and decided to make their home among the Kunitsu-Kami. Like Inari they have come to enjoy wide popularity.